- The Greenbacks Gal - http://thegreenbacksgal.com -

Tips, Tricks and Recipes to Help You Survive Thanksgiving

Posted By Andrea Green On November 12, 2012 @ 1:00 pm In Recipes | No Comments

[1]

Are you ready for Thanksgiving? Or does the thought of preparing a big Thanksgiving meal make you break out in hives? Either way, I’ve got some tips, tricks and recipes to help you survive this Thanksgiving.

TIPS

If your menu includes hot appetizers, here’s an easy solution for Keeping Hot Appetizers Hot [2].

Making homemade pies? When it comes time to roll out the dough, use an Upcycled Spice Jar as a Flour Shaker.

Don’t risk over browning your pie crust. Six simple steps to make a Pie Crust Shield. [3]

When it comes time to chop the onions, here is a shortcut [4].

Find out how you can Season Food in a Pinch [5] – a kitchen shortcut to save on prep time.

TRICKS

Every Thanksgiving meal has one thing in common. If you thought I meant turkey, you were wrong! I meant dishes. Every Thanksgiving generates tons of dishes so here are the Secret Shortcuts Everyone Needs to Getting Dishes Done Quickly [6].

If you will be using crystal or silver to set your table, these tricks using vinegar will get them clean and shiny [7].

Finally, if you find yourself with a challenging dish, use my method to Clean Burnt Pots and Pans Using Nontoxic Cleaners.

RECIPES

Don’t buy special spice mixes. Instead, make your own Homemade Pumpkin Pie Spice [8] and Apple Pie Spice Mix. [9]

This year, make your own Whole Wheat Pie Crust [10]. Whole grain, delicious and simple to make.

Are you in charge of dessert? Make Pumpkin or Apple Cheesecakes in Mason Jars [11] for cute presentation.

No matter what type of dessert you plan to serve, make sure you serve it with Homemade Whipped Cream [12].

Is someone gluten free at your Thanksgiving table? Try an Apple Pie Fruit Smoothie [13] instead of pie for dessert.

Will you be serving a vegetarian? Pumpkin Cheddar Soup [14] is both satisfying and festive.

Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!


Article printed from The Greenbacks Gal: http://thegreenbacksgal.com

URL to article: http://thegreenbacksgal.com/tips-tricks-and-recipes-to-help-you-survive-thanksgiving/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://pinterest.com/pin/create/button/?url=http%3A%2F%2Fthegreenbacksgal.com%2F%3Fp%3D4420&media=http%3A%2F%2Fthegreenbacksgal.com%2Fwp-content%2Fuploads%2F2012%2F11%2FTips-to-Survive-Thanksgiving.jpg&description=Tips%2C%20Tricks%20and%20Recipes%20to%20Help%20You%20Survive%20Thanksgiving%20via%20The%20Greenbacks%20Gal

[2] Keeping Hot Appetizers Hot: http://thegreenbacksgal.com/hot-appetizers-easy-solution-to-keep-them-hot/

[3] Pie Crust Shield.: http://thegreenbacksgal.com/make-a-pie-crust-shield-for-the-perfect-pie-crust/

[4] here is a shortcut: http://thegreenbacksgal.com/kitchen-tip-how-to-evenly-dice-an-onion/

[5] Season Food in a Pinch: http://thegreenbacksgal.com/shortcut-seasoning-food-in-a-pinch/

[6] Secret Shortcuts Everyone Needs to Getting Dishes Done Quickly: http://thegreenbacksgal.com/secret-shortcuts-everyone-needs-to-wash-dishes-quickly/

[7] these tricks using vinegar will get them clean and shiny: http://thegreenbacksgal.com/getting-ready-for-the-holidays/

[8] Homemade Pumpkin Pie Spice: http://thegreenbacksgal.com/homemade-pumpkin-pie-spice-recipe/

[9] Apple Pie Spice Mix.: http://thegreenbacksgal.com/homemade-apple-pie-spice/

[10] Whole Wheat Pie Crust: http://thegreenbacksgal.com/homemade-whole-wheat-pie-crust/

[11] Pumpkin or Apple Cheesecakes in Mason Jars: http://thegreenbacksgal.com/cheesecakes-baked-in-mason-jars/

[12] Homemade Whipped Cream: http://thegreenbacksgal.com/a-recipe-to-impress-your-friends-homemade-whipped-cream/

[13] Apple Pie Fruit Smoothie: http://thegreenbacksgal.com/apple-pie-fruit-smoothie-recipe/

[14] Pumpkin Cheddar Soup: http://thegreenbacksgal.com/pumpkin-cheddar-soup/

Copyright © 2012 The Greenbacks Gal. All rights reserved.